Imperfect

respond on sight

A reply to JCProbably's post, Intentions to Respond | Notes by JCProbably.

To minimize friction between resonating ideas and responding to them, have you tried responding right away instead of adding intentions to your to-do list?

I found recent success in doing just that. Expressing answers quicker means I post more replies. Crafting blog posts, voice memos, or written notes with my answer helps me skip my to-do list. This method describes how I wrote the very note you're reading now.

Incomplete answers serve double duty as clearer to-dos that can be polished up later. Writing anything onto a blank slate is an achievement in itself. The more I write, the more context I have to work with.

Better yet, the chances for immediate synthesis, feedback, and collaboration can skyrocket with this approach. Your final answer may surprise not only you and your audience, but others too.

Like any advice, this approach doesn't always work. Being overwhelmed, finding nothing that resonates, and other obstacles can get in the way. However, when conditions are such that it does work, it works great.

Instead of reminding yourself to stop forgetting to write a to-do list item, try responding immediately and see how that unfolds.