Imperfect

cultivate your space

It's better to cultivate a fitting space for you than to fit a mold.

Steve had this take on the Discover page as part of his Tuesday Thoughts 03 | An Almost Anonymous Blog post:

I sometimes wonder how the same people's posts get so many toasts and climb to the top of the "trending" part of Bear's Discover page, and wonder why my stuff doesn't get there.

After leaving a lengthy reply to Steve on the backburner, I stumbled upon an excerpt from Davi's My impressions of Bear Blog post with a different take:

it bothers me a little that votes and the Discovery page go a little in the opposite direction of the minimalism that is at the core of this project

People vary in their perspectives. Some crave the height of numbers going up or the solitude of lesser numbers. Some crave the breadth of maximalism or minimalism's lack thereof. Others crave the depth that comes with cultivating their best space.

These varying perspectives can all be helpful. However, I consider the latter above the others. Cultivating a personal space of expression yields more value than chasing either external validation or values that may change.